If you’ve seen any National Lampoon movie, then you already know that hazing is something that was once a staple of fraternities and sororities across the country. However, times and laws have changed and many states have now outlawed the practice of hazing and set up some hefty punishments for those who partake.
With a new college semester just around the corner, many eager pledges are ready to find their new Greek group of friends. If you’re new to the college scene, here’s a look at what hazing is, why it’s illegal in most states, and how Texas feels about the practice.
What is Hazing?
Hazing is the practice of initiation into a group that usually involves degradation, humiliation, and sometimes physical harm.
Some examples of hazing include the following:
- Beating, branding, or whipping
- Forced consumption of liquids and food
- Forced confinement
- Forced sleep deprivation
- Forced nudity
- Forced simulated or real sexual acts
Why is Hazing Illegal in Many States?
The keyword behind hazing is “forced.” The forced acts that have been involved with hazing in the past have resulted in the deaths or serious injuries of several students.
Unfortunately, although there are many laws that are very clear that hazing isn’t legal or tolerated, it’s still a common issue on college and university campuses. This fact makes perfect sense when there are only 13 states in the country that regard hazing a felony when it results in death or serious injury.
Where is Hazing a Felony?
The following states consider hazing a felony include:
- West Virginia
- New Jersey
While these 13 states have felony punishments for hazing, it is still an illegal practice in all states except:
- New Mexico
- South Dakota
Can You Get Arrested for Hazing in Texas?
Since Texas is one of the 13 states that treats hazing as a felony, the short answer is, yes! So, if you’re involved with any dangerous initiation rituals, expect to face some severe consequences if injury or death occur.
Just failing to report a hazing incident can lead to jail time. The state of Texas still considers this level of participation in hazing a Class B misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
However, a hazing offense that results in a death (state felony) or serious injury (Class A misdemeanor) is punishable by fines between $1,000 – $5,000 and time in county jail between 180 days and a maximum of one year.
What to Do if You’re Arrested in Fort Worth for Hazing?
If you are arrested for hazing, you’ll have to build a great defense for your court appearances. This can be difficult with limited contact with your lawyer from behind bars.
Fortunately, securing a bail bond can help get you out of jail for the time being and grant you easier access to legal assistance and the ability to sort out your affairs before court hearings.
For just ten percent of your court-appointed bail amount, your family or friends can apply for a bail bond on your behalf and get you home to comfortably prepare your case.
Secure an Easy Bail Bond With Big Bubba’s Bail Bonds
If you’ve been arrested in Fort Worth and were granted bail, let Big Bubba get you out of jail, fast. We are open 24/7 and our bail bond agents can work with any charge at any cost. Contact us today to learn more about our services or to start the bail bond application process.